Press Release

RFF Announces Fellowship Awardees for 2012–13 Academic Year

Jul 23, 2012

WASHINGTON—Six academic fellowships and special stipend awardees have been named by Resources for the Future (RFF) to conduct environmental and energy research during the coming year. The awards, which provide stipends and program support for the recipients, are selected through a competitive process and are funded by special gifts to the RFF endowment. For more information about these programs, see Fellowships and Internships.

Winners for the 2012–13 academic year are listed below:

Gilbert F. White Postdoctoral Fellowships

Per Fredriksson, professor of economics at the University of Louisville, will pursue empirical research on environmental federalism.

Joseph L. Fisher Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships

Peter Maniloff, a PhD student in environmental science at Duke University, is completing his dissertation on volatility and environmental policy, with a focus on ethanol and oil price shocks, price containment in greenhouse gas cap-and-trade, and environmental liability.

Nicole Ngo, a PhD student in sustainable development at Columbia University, is completing her research on air pollution and health in New York City and Nairobi.

Paul Scott, a PhD student in economics at Princeton University, is completing his dissertation, which models crop choice decisions and applies those results to evaluate the effects of potential regulations of greenhouse gases from agriculture.

John V. Krutilla Research Stipend

Timothy Fitzgerald, an assistant professor at Montana State University, will use this stipend to support research on the energy and environmental tradeoffs associated with hydraulic fracturing for natural gas.

Walter O. Spofford Memorial Internship

Zifei Yang, who recently completed a Master’s in Public Administration at American University, will work with RFF Fellow Zhongmin Wang on research comparing the development of shale gas and coal-bed methane between the United States and China, and assessing implications for Chinese energy and environmental policy.

* * * * * * * * * *

Founded in 1952, Resources for the Future is an independent and nonpartisan institution.