Press Release

RFF Announces Fellowship Awardees for 2014–2015 Academic Year

Oct 23, 2014

WASHINGTON—Resources for the Future has named six academic fellowship and internship awardees who will conduct environmental and energy research during the coming year. The awards, which provide stipends and program support for the recipients, are granted through a competitive process and are funded by special gifts to the RFF endowment. For more information about these programs, see Fellowships and Internships.

Winners for the 2014–2015 academic year are listed below:

Gilbert F. White Postdoctoral Fellowships

James Salzman, Samuel F. Mordecai Professor of Law and professor of environmental policy at Duke University, is visiting RFF for 2014–15 and working on “A Study Examining the Development of Payments for Ecosystem Services.”

Francisco Aguilar, associate professor in the Department of Forestry at the University of Missouri, is spending 2014–15 at RFF and studying a range of forestry-related topics.

Walter O. Spofford Memorial Internship

Kuangyuan Zhang, PhD candidate in energy management and policy at Pennsylvania State University, spent the summer of 2014 studying carbon trading in China and Chinese housing and transportation issues with RFF researchers.

Joseph L. Fisher Dissertation Fellowships

Stephie Fried, PhD candidate in economics at the University of California, San Diego, is studying the macroeconomic effects of climate policy, with a particular focus on the links between energy price volatility, energy technology, and carbon mitigation policy.

Evan Herrnstadt, PhD candidate in economics at the University of Michigan, is conducting research on bridging natural resource and environmental economics and industrial organization fields by examining firm behavior in the presence of environmental regulation.

Eric Lewis, PhD candidate in economics at the University of Michigan, is focusing on the economics of the onshore oil and gas industry.

* * * * * * * * * *

Founded in 1952, Resources for the Future is an independent and nonpartisan institution.