Press Release

2007-2008 RFF Fellowship Recipients Announced

May 15, 2007

RFF Announces Recipients Of Fellowship Program Awards For 2007-08 Academic Year

May 16, 2007

WASHINGTON, D.C. --Recipients of nine academic fellowships and special internships have been named by Resources for the Future to conduct environmental and energy research during the coming year.

The awards provide stipends and program support for the recipients, who are selected through a competitive process. They are funded by special gifts to the RFF endowment. Winners for the 2007-08 academic year in each award program are listed below.

Joseph L. Fisher Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships

  • Kwaw Andam, a candidate in the joint Ph.D. program at the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies at Georgia State University and the School of Public Policy at the Georgia Institute of Technology, will finish his research on the effects of land use policies and environmental protection in Costa Rica.
  • Etienne Benson, a Ph.D. candidate in the Program in History, Anthropology, and Science, Technology, and Society at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will complete his dissertation in environmental history on the role of wildlife telemetry (radio tracking) in modern environmental policy development, conservation biology, and wildlife conservation.
  •  Junjie Zhang, a Ph.D. candidate in the Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences at Duke University, will finish his dissertation on empirically structured bioeconomic models of fisheries in the northeastern Gulf of Mexico.

Walter O. Spofford, Jr. Memorial Intern

  • Ms. Xing Liang, a graduate student in the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, will join RFF this summer to pursue modeling of water resources.

Gilbert F. White Postdoctoral Fellow

  • Steve Gabriel, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park, will join RFF during 2007-2008 to analyze supply security in natural gas markets in the United States, the European Union, and worldwide, as well as to work with RFF scholars on mathematical modeling of critical energy infrastructure.

Fellowships in Environmental Regulatory Implementation

  • Kerry Rodgers, University of Maryland School of Law, will study the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's regulatory oversight of radioactive waste disposal at the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant, an underground repository for transuranic radioactive waste located near Carlsbad, New Mexico.
  • Cynthia Koehler, Golden Gate University Law School, will address regulatory implementation of federal reclamation law in the case of the U.S. Central Valley Project (CVP) Improvement Act. The CVP in California is one of the largest water storage and conveyance systems in the world.
  • Steven Strauss, Department of Forest Science at Oregon State University, and Roger Sedjo, Resources for the Future, will consider regulation by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency of tree biotechnology for wood and bioenergy.

John V. Krutilla Research Stipend

  • Ahmed Mushfiq Mobarak, Department of Economics at the University of Colorado at Boulder and the economics faculty of the Yale School of Management, is the recipient of the second annual Krutilla Research Award. He will use his stipend to study the interaction between institutional mechanisms for decentralized water resource management and water pollution in Brazil.


Resources for the Future, an independent and nonpartisan Washington, D.C., think-tank, seeks to improve environmental and natural resource policymaking worldwide through objective social science research of the highest caliber.

Founded in 1952, Resources for the Future is an independent and nonpartisan institution.